Feeling Special

It’s been too long since I’ve written. Life has gotten so busy. I did read and tweet about an article that I read by Sue Weems. She talks about how to get out of a slump in your writing. Here’s the link if you’re interested: http://thewritepractice.com/writing-slump/?utm_content=bufferaabf5&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer

I found that this isn’t necessarily a slump for me, but rather a phase of life I’m in right now. Unpredictable each day. That may change a bit once my oldest goes off to college and I have one less schedule to keep straight!

Tonight, something happened and I really was inspired to blog about it.

I was sitting at a stoplight with my son on our way home from dinner and I noticed the van behind me. There was an older couple. He was in the driver’s seat, smiling, talking all the while, looking at the woman next to him. She looked back at him, just beaming. Their eyes lit up. There were a few light chuckles. The way they looked at each other, I knew they really loved one another. I understood she was pretty special. I witnessed that their love was rare and beautiful. All of that from just 30 seconds of observation.

My heart aches for this. I want someone who will look at me this way, even when we’re old. I know now, I didn’t have it. I settled, because I didn’t think I’d ever meet anyone better. I went through my childhood not feeling beautiful. I was teased relentlessly for the way I looked. That feeling of inferiority and worthlessness sticks with me even today. It’s why I settled.

I will not settle anymore. The person I want to spend the rest of my life with? He’s gonna be pretty special.  I’ll look at him the way this man looked at his girl and I will make him hopefully feel the way I know this woman felt. I want that to be reciprocated. I want to be important to someone and valued. I know God wants that for me. Have I met him yet? I’m not sure. Only God knows for sure. I can only wait on Him to reveal that to me. I’m praying for him each day and if he doesn’t know it already, he will one day.

Sweet Dreams to you and yours,

R

IMG_3556

Leave a Reply

